Welcome to the website of two-time Shamus Award-nominated author Dana King.
Kick the tires a little, read about his books, see where he’s appearing, and check out his blog.

White Out

Penns River Book 7

Available July 11, 2022

It’s been a tough winter in Penns River and things aren’t getting any better. A major snowstorm looms as a police officer shoots and kills a man after a bar fight. There are four complicating factors:

1. No weapon is found on the dead man.
2. The cop is Black; the victim is white.
3. The victim is not just white; he’s a white supremacist.
4. A national leader of the movement wants to use Penns River to set an example and create a martyr for the cause.

Fellow travelers from several neighboring states converge on the town for the funeral as an even bigger snowstorm roars in with them.

While the Penns River police try to keep the lid on, the Allegheny Casino holds a poker tournament. One hundred players each put up $10,000 in cash. The winner walks away with all of it. In cash. The situation is fraught enough without the local cops having to answer every call as if it might be the start of a riot.

Read more

AmazonAmazon UK

Praise for Penns River books

“Talented author Dana King reminds us again that in those small towns and cities, sneeringly called ‘flyover country,’ the problems and challenges of the outside world often come to play a deadly visit… A gritty crime novel that deserves wide attention.”
—Brendan DuBois, award-winning and New York Times bestselling author
“It’s been a long time since I read a book that pulled me along as urgently… King writes about his cops and their town with the kind of real affection that has you not just wanting, but needing, to know what happens to them next–and there’s plenty happening in this fast moving, deftly written thriller. Highly recommended.”
—J.D. Rhoades, bestselling author of the Jack Keller series and the Cade and Clayborne historical thrillers
“Dana King’s Leaving the Scene delivers the goods—a procedural packed with smart dialogue, sharp plotting, and a vivid humanity that brings to mind the best of McBain, Wambaugh, and Connelly.”
—James D. F. Hannah, Shamus Award-winning author of the Henry Malone series
“I finished reading this book on a gurney in an Emergency Room with crying kids, a car accident victim and a loud drunk keeping me company, and barely noticed them. If that’s not a recommendation, I don’t know what is!”
New Mystery Reader
“What impressed me more than anything is that I consciously looked for weak places—places I could set it down easily and go and do something else.”
Les Edgerton on Writing
Ten-Seven is a prime example of the kind of small-town procedural that tells you as much about the town and its denizens as it does the crime at hand. The kind of solid plotting and characterizations I love in another favorite Pennsylvania crime writer, the great KC Constantine.”
—Scott Phillips, author of The Ice Harvest and The Walkaway
“Dana King’s latest novel Ten-Seven returns his readers to Penns River in a propulsive mystery thriller that showcases his ear for dialogue, penchant for wry humor, and mastery of the police procedural, all while his finger is firmly on the pulse of America’s Rust Belt. Ten-Seven is the perfect novel for fans of Elmore Leonard and Tana French and will leave his readers hungrily awaiting the next installment.”
—Eryk Pruitt, Anthony-award nominated author of What We Reckon
“Consistently one of the best in the business. As good as any I’ve ever read. Dana King, to quote Don Kirkendall, of Men Reading Books, is “top shelf entertainment.” Ten-Seven keeps that ball rolling.”
—Charlie Stella, the Godfather of mob fiction